All Reviews

In March 2015 I visited Arc de Triomf, Barcelona, Spain and my rating is 5/5.

The monument is great and really good looking from a distance. The reddish brickwork makes it distinct from all other buildings around. You can just sit on a bench on the side and enjoy the moment being there. Really great work of art. The palm-trees around add more beauty at the picture and the atmosphere.

Tips: If you visit it in the morning, there will be less people.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Plovdiv, BulgariaPetko Bakalov
2015-04-04

In July 2014 I visited Belogradchik Rocks, Balkan Mountains, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

This landmark is great. You can stay on the top of the cliffs and watch all day long the beauty of nature. The scenery is magnificent and also the mountains are statuesque.

Tips: Do not forget your camera :)

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Plovdiv, BulgariaPetko Bakalov
2015-03-08

In November 2013 I visited Pobiti Kamani, Varna Province, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

It is a really great place close to the road on the way from Devnya to Varna. There are really interesting, unique and strange rock formations. Many people call this place The Bulgarian Stonehenge. There is a entrance fee. From the shop you can buy souvenirs and books. Most of the formations have names to the objects they resemble, for example The Camel, The Rock Forest, The Queen. There is one stone that when you look through it you can see a heart and that is why it is called The Stone of Divine love. The place is great and it is really worth visiting.

Tips: In a sunny day it is really hot there and you can only use the shades of the high rock.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

4/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

4/5

great time spent

from Plovdiv, BulgariaPetko Bakalov
2014-02-09

In November 2013 I visited Rila Monastery, Rila Mountain, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

The country road to the monastery is worth the trip in itself, especially during the autumn season. When we arrived at our destination we were blown away by the sheer scale of the Monastary. Inside the church we were stunned by the decoration on every single centimeter of the walls and ceilings - it us a very special place. We will certainly return on our next trip to Bulgaria.

Tips:

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Ottawa, CanadaGabrielle
2013-11-24

In October 2013 I visited Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico and my rating is 5/5.

We traveled by car to Chichen Itsa and this was our first visit. At the entrance there are a number of people selling souvenirs. There are several shops and some toilets. Note that there are no toilets inside the site. We had a fabulous guide that told of the Mayan history. Water at the site was located in underground rivers. Cenotes, or natural sinkholes that fill with rain water. There had been evidence of human sacrifice in the cenotes. The site is quite large and you can spent half a day walking round, exploring and learning. I think we may return in the future and I would recommend this site to anyone wanting to learn more about how amazing the Mayans were.

Tips:

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from MexicoCrystal Garcia
2013-11-24

In October 2013 I visited Las Lajas Sanctuary, Ipiales, Colombia and my rating is 5/5.

It is a magic and very beautiful place. For sure, you will feel the kindness of their people and the magnificent landscape. First of all, this magnificent Church has been voted one of the Top Ten Original Churches in the world; it was built in 1916 in a canyon above the Guaitara River, many pilgrims visit this place where several miracles have occurred to sick people. There are thousands of thankful plaques in gratitude to the Virgin Mary who appeared to a woman who carried her deaf and dumb girl. Her daughter talked for first time saying that she was called by Mary and later on; a colorful image of the Virgin Mary appeared encrusted in a rock which is today the Main Altar. This is a Catholic Church filled with a very spiritual energy even for non Catholics. I had a great time at Las Lajas.

Tips: Visit the sanctuary when there are less people because you can't get up close and personal with anything inside the church.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Rome, ItalyBarbera Merolla
2013-11-22

In November 2013 I visited Uluru / Ayers Rock, Northern Territory, Australia and my rating is 5/5.

I climbed the rock and the views were amazing. Information signs are really great and informative. Walk around it if you have time. This is an awe inspiring place to visit. Try to have an Aboriginal guide so you can hear some creation time stories while you are at Uluru. Do visit the Cultural Centre and read the stories, and if you can stay to listen to one of the elders tell a story. Take a good camera. I recommend an early start, join the free guided tour at 8am (normally takes couple of hours). Respect the signs around the sacred sites. The sunset and sunrise at Uluru are pure magic happening in front of your eyes.

Tips: Take lots of water to the Rock, it's a hot place. Wear a hat and good shoes, this will make your day so much more enjoyable.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from New York, USAVivian Carolyn
2013-11-22

In April 2013 I visited Balanced Rock, Arches National Park, United States and my rating is 5/5.

I visited Balanced Rock Park in early April, so it was cold and windy, but that couldn't diminish the beauty of the scenery. A river winds its way through the park, and there are covered picnic tables and grills along the riverbank. The rock formations look like castles or fortresses and are just amazing. My friends did some exploring among the rocks and caves and enjoyed that a lot. It would be a lovely place to spend an afternoon in warm weather.

Tips:

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from New York, USAVivian Carolyn
2013-11-22

In May 2013 I visited Horseshoe Bend, Colorado River, United States and my rating is 5/5.

I drove for 5 hours through the desert just to see the Horseshoe Bend and it was totally worth it!!! I went there 2 times to see the bend in different light conditions. If you are a photographer make sure you take a wide lens to capture the beauty of the mighty Colorado river and the entire bend. It will not fit into your frame if you want to use 18-55mm lens or similar.

Tips: I can tell you the best time is in the afternoon - between 4 and 5pm and then just after sunset.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from New York, USAVivian Carolyn
2013-11-22

In November 2013 I visited Salzata Lake, Rila Mountain, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

I really love the Seven Rila Lakes. Every year I go there and I can't stop enjoying that place. The view is magnificent. It is great when the lift to the hut is working, because it saves you about an hour of walking. From the hut to the highest lake (The Tear Lake) is about 2 hours and 30 minutes. The scenery from the top is great and is definitely worth seeing. I warmly recommend you this place.

Tips: If you decide to go there in the fall, you have to start your trip as early as you can, because the daylight is shorter.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Varna, BulgariaNelina Georgieva
2013-11-11

In August 2012 I visited Stonehenge, Wiltshire, England and my rating is 5/5.

This place is great. I have travelled a lot but it really worth it. The ancient atmosphere is all over the place. The only thing that I dont like is that there were really lots of people there.

Tips: Visit this landmark when there are few people.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

4/5

great time spent

from Sofia, BulgariaSylvia Qneva
2013-06-25

In May 2012 I visited 1300 Years of Bulgaria Monument, Shumen, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

Enormous monument with a lot of history. Every part of the monument tells a story of the history of Bulgaria. The stone figures and wall mosaics are really majestic.

Tips: At the entrance you may ask to briefly tell you about the monument and the history that symbolize.

5/5

easy to find

4/5

worth visiting

4/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

4/5

great time spent

from Haskovo, BulgariaNikola Petkov
2013-06-25

In August 2012 I visited Musala Peak (2925 m), Rila Mountain, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

Highest peak in Bulgaria. You can visit it in one day. There is a lift to the lodge Yastrebets and after that you follow a well-defined path that leads to the top. The climb is not very difficult exept the last part just before the top. For this last part there are two tracks - one which winds its way to the top and the other one is very steep and secured with metal rope. At the peak there is a new meteorological station. Then I reached the top there were so many people that I felt like I am in a center of a city.

Tips: If it is a sunny day, take sunscreen and а hat. The best time to visit is early in the morning, when it is less crowdy.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

4/5

great time spent

from Haskovo, BulgariaNikola Petkov
2013-04-01

In September 2012 I visited Belogradchik Fortress, Belogradchik, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

Magnificent fortress... I do not know what to say. I spent the whole day and I intend to go there again next year.

Tips: Best time to visit is before noon.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Haskovo, BulgariaNikola Petkov
2013-04-01

In August 2012 I visited Lovech Fortress, Lovech, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

The fortress is really beautiful and is one of the landmarks of Lovech. In the western part there is a huge metal cross and you can see it from almost all parts of the city. From the top you can see the river Osam, and the remains of the Roman road crossing Lovech in the past. The fortress and the nearby monument of Vasil Levski are equipped with special night lighting. I spent a lot of time making pictures during the day and the night. It is a magnificent landmark. You will spend great time there and it is really worth visiting.

Tips: It is really hot during the day in the summer.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

4/5

great time spent

from Burgas, BulgariaNikolay
2013-02-20

In May 2012 I visited 1300 Years of Bulgaria Monument, Shumen, Bulgaria and my rating is 5/5.

The monument is really impressive. You can spend a lot of time enjoying the view of the city and the old fortress. The monument is really huge and you feel like a dot compare to the statues on the walls when you go around. I really like it.

Tips: When I was there, it was really windy.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

4/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Sofia, BulgariaPetya Yaneva
2013-02-03

In April 2012 I visited Las Vegas, Nevada, United States and my rating is 5/5.

Las Vegas is just Las Vegas. Incredibly beautiful city. I have been there for a week. When I entered the city center the only thing I could say was just WOW. And it was during the day. In the night was much more beautiful when everything was lit up. That is the time you can enjoy the beauty that this city can offer. I am not a person who gambles and therefore almost all the time I spent sightseeing. Words can hardly describe what you see, so I recommend it warmly to visit. You will be delighted by what you see.

Tips: Make a night trip around the city.

5/5

easy to find

5/5

worth visiting

5/5

beauty

5/5

uniqueness

5/5

great time spent

from Varna, BulgariaMartin Georgiev
2013-02-02

Create your Landmarks list and mark landmarks as visited and want to visit.

Interesting Fact

Cave of the Hands, Argentina

Inside The Cave of the Hands most of the hands are left hands, which suggests that the painters held the spraying pipe with their right hand.

Facts about Landmarks

G u e s s G a m e s

Guess the landmarks, the countries, the continents and the capitals.

Share an interesting landmark that you have visited or want to visit.

Tips for Trips

Top 10 Landmarks

Top 10 Legends of Landmarks

Latest Reviews

"Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter."

Izaak Walton